Vouilloz and Charles crowned 2021 EWS-E Champions

30 September 2021

Vittoria EWS-E Tweed Valley saw the series conclude in savage conditions amongst the rain soaked hills of Scotland. 

Today’s course was the most challenging in EWS-E history

The toughest EWS-E to date was made even harder still by heavy rain overnight that left the Tweed Valley’s notoriously tight and steep trails slicker than ever. The 14 stage course pushed bikes and bodies to the limit as they tackled 3450 metres of climbing across 56 kilometres. 

Reece Wilson led the race before a crash took him out of contention

In the men’s competition it was Reece Wilson who took the early lead after loop one in his debut EWS-E, but it was short lived after a crash on the next stage saw him withdraw from the race. From here on in it was series leader Nico Vouilloz (Lapierre Overvolt Team) who was in control of the race. He led the next two loops to cross the line not only the race winner, but also the 2021 EWS-E Champion. 

Sam Hill won seven of the 14 stages 

Behind Vouilloz an intense battle was playing out between his Lapierre Overvolt teammates Kevin Marry and Antoine Rogge for second place. But it was a resurgent Sam Hill (Team Chain Reaction Cycles) that caused the biggest upset of the day in his first EWS-E race - winning seven stages on loops two and three. A time penalty for Rogge resulted in Hill’s efforts being rewarded with a third place finish, just behind Kevin Marry in second. 

Tracy Moseley won every stage of the race

In the women’s race Tracy Moseley was out for revenge - schooling the winner of rounds one and two Laura Charles (Orbea Fox Enduro Team) in the art of mastering mud. Moseley was ruthless in her efficiency, winning every stage convincingly to finish the race with an impressive four minute lead. However it was Laura Charles’ domination at rounds one and two that sealed her fate, as she was crowned the Series Champion in her first season racing the discipline.

Laura Charles won two of the three rounds to be crowned the Series Champion

Lapierre Overvolt were crowned both Team of the Day and Series Champions after impressive performances all year, with all three of their riders featuring on podiums throughout the season. 

Nico Vouilloz’s consecutive wins helped Lapierre Overvolt sceure the Team Championship

The EWS-E returns to the Tweed Valley next year as the opening round of the 2022 season. 


Full results from today’s race are available here. 

2021 Series Rankings are available here.