The most competitive National Champs of all time?

11 September 2020

Some of the biggest names in the sport will go head to head this weekend in France, at what must surely be the most competitive National Champs in the world. 

Taking place in Loudenvielle as part of the Pyrenees Bike Festival, the French National Enduro Champs start lists reads like a who’s who of the sport’s greatest riders. The race will also serve as an EWS Qualifier. 

After her perfect 2019 season and win in Zermatt, is there anyone who can stop Courdurier?

In the women’s competition reigning Enduro World Series Champion Isabeau Courdurier (Lapierre Zipp Collective) will be up against the winner of the first ever EWS-E winner Melanie Pugin, as well as Morgane Charre (Pivot Factory Racing) who was on the Specialized EWS Zermatt podium beside her last month. 

Theo Galy was the highest ranked Frenchman in Zermatt last month

In the men’s competition Adrien Dailly (Lapierre Zipp Collective) will be the first man to leave the start, but there’s an impressive list of names who’ll be dropping in behind him. Fresh from his third place in Zermatt will be Theo Galy (Sunn Enduro Factory Team), alongside Florian Nicolai (Trek Factory Racing), Kevin Miquel (Sunn Enduro Factory Team), Damien Oton (Orbea Fox Enduro Team) and Youn Deniaud (Giant Factory Off-Road Team). 

Nico Vouilloz is the first man out the start gate out at the e-bike race in France

Legend of the sport Nico Vouillioz (Lapierre Zipp Collective) will lead out the e-bike competition, but faces stiff competition from Specialized Zermatt EWS-E winner Yannick Pontal, Levi Batista (Tribe Rocky Mountain Powerplay) and the first ever EWS-E Power Stage winner Jerome Gilloux. 

With Loudenvielle set to close the 2021 EWS season, it’s no surprise there’s a strong list of riders looking to check out the trails, as well as get some more racing under their belts ahead of Vittoria EWS Pietra Ligure next weekend in Italy. 

Other news