Fry and Fearon win in Derby!

22 November 2019

The penultimate round of the Asia Pacific Enduro Series shone on a spotlight on home grown talent as Australia’s Rowena Fry and Connor Fearon (Kona Factory Team) took top honours in Tasmania. 

Round two of the Asia-Pacific Enduro Series was in Derby, Tasmania

The tiny town of Derby in Tasmania’s North East once again put on a great weekend of racing with perfect weather and track conditions. The new Shimano race village located along the river at the Little Rivers Brewing Co, Side Tracked, provided racers with a cold beer after a long day in the saddle. 

Tassie local Rowena Fry was third won a stage when the series visited back in March but was on top of the podium this time around

There were five stages offered up for Sunday, and in the women’s competition Fry's dominance was never really in doubt. Winning all five stages she finished the race with over a minute’s lead. Coming in second was youngster Zoe Cuthbert and then a short three seconds later Leanna Curtis in third.

Connor Fearon won comfortably in Tasmania

Fearon also put on a dominant performance to win all stages in the men’s competition, with a healthy 30 second lead on Dan Booker and Chris Panozzo. The fight was on for second and third place with only hundredths of a second between them - but Booker just squeezed in front of Panozzo to take second place.  

The U21 Men's podium; Sam Walsh, Kyme Roly and Miles Smith

In the U21 Men local favourite Miles Smith was pipped by Kyme Roly who won three of the five stages. A tough battle was on hand for Miles Smith, with Sam Walsh only finishing half a second behind Smith. In the U21 Women Izzy Flint was back in the saddle since her crash at round tow of the EWS n Rotorua back in March, and was duly rewarded with the win. Fenella Harris picked up second place and rounding out the podium was Emma Bateup in third. 

Lionel Sequera had a very convincing win in the Master Men, winning all stages to land a sizeable lead over second placed Shane Gillett and Anthony Smidt in third. 

Fry’s win sees her lead the series rankings, with Rachel Hore in second and Rae Morrison (BBCL NZ Arapi Enduro Team) in third. In the men’s rankings Connor Fearon (Kona Factory Team) is out front with Shannon Hewetson in second and Daniel Booker in third. 

The Asia-Pacific Enduro Series concludes with the Chiang Mai International Enduro in Thailand on November 30th. 

Full results from Tasmania can be found here, and the Asia Pacific Enduro Series Rankings here.