How to Enter


How do I enter an EWS race?

The Enduro World Series aims to be as open to all riders as possible while also making sure that any rider dedicated to enduro racing has the opportunity to a guaranteed place on our highly regarded Reserved List, published at the start of every year.

There are four routes into an entry at an Enduro World Series event

1. Reserved List
2. Qualifier Series Ranking
3. Wildcards
4. Public Lottery


entry graphic


Entry opens in two waves.


Wave 1 is invite only (16th January 2017) and includes:
1. the Reserved List
2. Qualifying Ranking


Wave 2 opens all remaining places not confirmed by Wave 1 to everyone who applies for a lottery ticket on 25th January.

Wave 2 includes:

3. Wildcards
4. Public Lottery



1. What are the key dates for 2017 event entry?


● 16th January, 2017 – reserved rider entry opens

20th January, 2017 – reserved rider entry closes

25th January 2017 – public lottery opens (00:01 GMT)

27th January 2017 – public lottery closes (23:59 GMT)

29th January 2017 – successful public lottery applicants notified


2. What’s the Reserved List?

The Reserved Entry List is a list of individual riders who are given priority entry into all of our events at the start of the year. The list comprises of:

● Top 100 EWS ranked Male and 25 ranked Female riders from the previous year’s EWS ranking.

● Top 3 Under 21 at every EWS event in the previous year

● Top 3 Masters at every EWS event in the previous year

● The top two ranked Male and Female riders from select national and regional enduro series

● Four riders per event from each Official EWS Team

● 20 wildcards per event, given to each organiser for awarding to young talented riders and local racers important to the community the event is held within. The final say of these wildcards lies with each organising group.

● Top 80 Men, 30 Women, 15 U21, 15 Master from Official Qualifying Ranking on December 31 (see below)

Reserved List riders will be given a pre-entry window in which to enter. No reserve entries will be held past the published closing date. Wildcard places will be handled individually, depending on individual event protocols.

The Reserve List for the current season can be found here.

Only EMBA members are eligible to earn EWS ranking points. You can get your EMBA membership here.


Qualifying events


                                                                               EWS qualifier


3. What is the Qualifying Ranking?

The new for 2016 Qualifying ranking has been designed to allow riders to enter Official Qualifier Events around the world and earn ranking points, earning them a place on the Reserved List. The full calendar and details of all Qualifier events is available here.

Only EMBA members are eligible to earn Qualifier points. You can get your EMBA membership here.


How does the Qualifying Ranking work?

● EMBA members entering the Official EWS Qualifier events listed on will collect official ranking points and feature in the official EWS annual qualifying rankings.

● EMBA memberships and rankings are available on

● On December 31st, the best three qualifying results for each rider will be totalled to calculate the final qualifying ranking.

● The top 80 Men, 30 Women, 15 U21 and 15 Masters in the Final Qualifying Ranking will be added to the following year’s Reserved List

● The winner in each EWS category (not local race category) every Official Qualifying round will be automatically added to the following year’s Reserved List. Although points are awarded only to EMBA members, the highest placed EMBA member is not awarded this automatic qualification place, it is only the 1st place, winner of the event (per category).

● EWS Qualifying Ranking Points will be awarded in relation to the overall finishing position of each EMBA member. (Example: 15th position in the Women’s GC = 60 points regardless of how many EMBA members placed from 1st to 14th).

● Full points tables are available to view in the Rule Book

● Only EMBA members are eligible to earn Qualifier points. You can get your EMBA membership here.


4. What is a Wildcard?
A Global Wildcard is a special, very hard to get invite to race an EWS. Wildcard applications open during the Public Lottery and the EMBA board will select 20 riders based on nationality, experience, potential, dedication and category. All applications are considered – but the main focus is on finding new, young and fresh riding talent from developing nations and riders with exceptional circumstances at the top of their game in other cycling disciplines or previously top ranked enduro racers who have missed past events due to injury .


5. What is the Lottery?
Any additional spaces for an event following the aforementioned pre-qualified riders will be released in January 2017 through a public lottery system and lucky entrants will be selected at random.


Only one application per rider – but riders can specify multiple race rounds in the application. Duplicate entries will be automatically rejected.

Riders may apply as a group. If you are interested in competing at any of the races with your partner or your teammates, groups of up to 3 people may enter the lottery as a group. Either everyone in the group will get spots or no one does. The odds of being selected as a group are the same as being selected as an individual. You may only sign up as an individual or as part of a group – not both. Applicants signing up as both individuals and as members of a group will have all their applications rejected.

All riders who enter the lottery during the 48-hour period will have an equal chance of being selected – there is no advantage to applying earlier in the 48 hour time period. (00:01 GMT January 25 – 23:59 GMT January 26)

Riders will be drawn randomly for the available spots at each of the rounds.  The draw for all 8 rounds will take place on January 28.

By completing the lottery application, riders are authorizing the EWS to automatically charge their credit card the entry fee(s) if the rider is selected for any of the 2017 EWS round(s) listed on their application form.   The EWS will not contact riders prior to processing to registration fees on January 28 for the races listed on a successful applicant’s lottery application form.

The list of successful applicants will be posted at  Riders can also check their status through their online EWS account / profile.

Riders who are not selected in the lottery will be automatically added to the waitlist for the round(s) they identified on their application form.   If a spot does become available, riders will be emailed with the directions on how to complete their entry.

Registrations are refundable (subject to 20GBP processing fee) up to 3 weeks prior to a race.  Successful lottery applicants cannot transfer or defer their race entries.


Français | Italiano | Español



Race Licenses
Racers in the Finale Ligure EWS races MUST have a current 2017 FCI or a national racing license recognized by the UCI to compete. No day licenses will be available. Registrations cannot be finalized without the FCI / UCI number.
UCI licenses are also required for the Irish and French rounds – but day licenses will be available at the onsite checkin.


 italianoPer partecipare è necessario essere in regola con il tesseramento 2016 FCI o possedere la tessera di qualsiasi Ente della Consulta riconosciuto dalla FCI (per info contattare:

Per i ciclisti che non sono in possesso di Tessera ordinaria sarà possibile partecipare alla gara di Superenduro acquisendo la Tessera Giornaliera FCI (15,00 €). Per poter acquisire la tessera giornaliera è necessario esibire un certificato di idoneità allo sport agonistico per la disciplina ciclismo.